*Movies I Love

With Valentine’s day around the corner, I know lots of people are probably planning on a date night with their loves. And since it seems as though a lot of the classic dinner dates include dinner and a movie, I’ve been thinking a lot about my favorites. The ones I’ve watched time and time again and they never fail to keep me entertained.

That’s why, today, I thought it would be fun to share some of those favorites with you guys. Honestly, there are so many that are coming out in theaters this month, just in time for the holiday of love, but to me, there are times when what I love the most is curling up on the couch and watching one of my go-to’s. There’s something so lovely and comforting about those old movies you already have great memories with and they make me so happy, so why wouldn’t that be a perfect way to spend a day devoted to romance? Create a new memory with the movie and your loved one. Maybe one in my list will strike your interest:

Most of the movies I love are comedies, mysteries, or action. There isn’t a lot of romance on this list, because I’m not big on Rom-Com’s or the likes, but there are love based sub-plots in a lot of these, which is always great to have. Honestly, I like movies that will either make me laugh or make me reflect on what I saw.

This list is in no way exhaustive of the movies that I love watching and re-watching, but they are ones that I’ve seen enough to have them all nearly memorized. And I tried to make them ones that aren’t at the front of all the different lists that tons of other people compile as their favorites, because they are all entertaining and they all belong to be at the top of someone’s list. They are, in no particular order:

Anchorman

Genre: Comedy

What it’s about: Ron Burgundy is a big name news anchor in a time when only men are allowed to read the news. However, the times are changing and he is having trouble accepting the fact that women are starting to be seen as equals in the world of anchoring. When Veronica Corningstone, a women driven by her passions and filled with a lot of talent and potential, becomes is co-anchor he finds himself having trouble sharing the spotlight.

Why I love it: I just love Will Ferrell. To me, in most things he does, even if he’s acting totally ridiculous, he’s hilarious. This movie is no exception and it’s one that I can watch over and over again. And even though I have all the lines memorized, I still find myself laughing. The characters are zany, the plot is silly, but it’s an overall good time. He has many films that I love–Talladega Nights, Stepbrothers, Blades of Glory, Semi-Pro–but I enjoy this one the most because I used to watch it with my brother so often and I enjoy the memories of us laughing together.

Watch it here.

Red Dawn

Genre: Action/Thriller

What it’s about: An alternate history set in the 1980’s United States after an attack from foreign forces takes over. A group of teenagers and young adults escape from the attack at the local school and seek refuge in the woods. When they find out their families have been taken hostage and imprisoned, they fight back against the odds and start a war to get their country and their freedom back.

Why I love it: This movie was remade a few years back, and while the newest version is good, I’ll always adore the 1984 version starring both a young Charlie Sheen and a young Patrick Swayze! As one of my dad’s favorite movies, I remember loving it before I even saw it for the first time, because he talked so highly of it. It’s one that is not only full of action and adventure, but it also has an amazing plot that keeps you hooked and rooting for the characters from beginning to end.

Watch the old version (my favorite) here, or check out the newer version here.

Tommy Boy

Genre: Comedy

What it’s about: When his beloved father dies unexpectedly, Tommy Callahan is left as the heir to a failing auto parts factory. Although everyone believes it’s a lost cause, he heads off on a cross country adventure to try to save his father’s business. With the help of his father’s skeptical assistant, he puts forth his best foot and attempts to keep the factory running for hims family name and all the workers who are depending on him for a job.

Why I love it: I just adore the lighthearted silliness of Chris Farley and this movie is a complete delight from beginning to end. I can laugh again and again, even as I’m repeating the line. My brother and I used to watch this movie over and over, almost on a constant loop, because not only is it hilarious, but it’s also inspiring. The message is beautiful and the delivery is all the good things that comedy has to offer.

Watch it here.

Rescue Dawn

Genre: Action/Adventure/War

What it’s about: Based on a true story, Dieter Dangler is shot down over Laos and taken as a hostage in the Vietnam during the Vietnam Conflict. Taken to a camp where there are other American hostages (some who have been there for years), he starts planning an escape attempt that he knows is not only dangerous, but next to impossible.

Why I love it: This movie, the first time I ever watched it, took my breath away. It’s long, but it’s amazing. I love history and I’m always interested in war movies, because my maternal grandfather and great-grandfather both served in the military and I always feel as though these kinds of movies are my kind of connection to those two men, one of whom I never met. This is one of those movies that sticks with you and haunts you long after it’s over.

Watch it here.

Billy Madison

Genre: Comedy

What it’s about: When Billy Madison learns that his rich father is leaving control of his company to an associate, Billy is given an ultimatum. Throughout his entire life Billy has skated by on his father’s month and willingness to bail him out of any trouble he finds himself in. He even bought his way through elementary and high school. Tired of cleaning up after his man-child son, he offers him a deal: if he can go back to school and graduate on his own, he will inherit the company. He has two weeks to complete each grade or the deal is off and he’s determined to do what it takes to keep the company in the family.

Why I love it: A lot of people find Adam Sandler too silly, but I love some of his classics. And while The Waterboy, 50 First Dates, Big Daddy and Happy Gilmore are all staples in his repertoire, this one is the one I always find myself going back to. Not only is it funny, but it also has a great message about believing in yourself and the power of hard work and determination. And, okay, I love how hilarious the character is, but most of all, I love how much he grows. And the kids he meets along the way are pretty funny too.

Watch it here.

Anastasia

Genre: Animated/Drama

What it’s about: An animated film that plays with the once mysterious disappearance of Anastasia Romanov, the one time Grand Duchess of Russia who was supposedly never found after her family’s executions.  In the film, two scam artists find a young orphan woman with no memory of her past and try to pass her off as the long lost Grand Duchess in order to claim the reward being offered by her grieving grandmother. The trio runs into all kind of trouble along the way, specifically from the powerful, evil Rasputin who is desperate to end the Romanovs once and for all.

Why I love it: This movie hast he most to do with romance on the list, but I remember growing up and watching this movie constantly because I was mesmerized by the colors and images and music. It’s haunting in a beautiful way and I love how each character is developed throughout the entire film. Even as an adult, I still enjoy this cartoon, because it’s one that is not only heart-warming, but simply stunning. Plus, I love the historical aspect (because you know I’m a history nerd).

Watch it here.

Shutter Island

Genre: Psychological Thriller

What it’s about: When a brilliant murderer goes missing at Shutter Island, an insane-asylum located in a remote, island location, U.S. Marshal Teddy Daniels is brought in to solve the case. However, not everything is as it seems and the hospital has a lot more secrets than just a missing woman.

Why I love it: I’m a huge fan of psychological thrillers, but it’s so hard to come by one that is well done, make “sense”, and isn’t totally cheesy and/or predictable. This one was by far one of the best I’ve seen (and not just because it stars Leonard DiCaprio). It kept me guessing right until the end the first time I watched it, and even when I rewatch it I pick up on clues I hadn’t noticed before. Wonderful writing, a great mystery, and one that will keep you on your toes the whole way through.

Watch it here.

Any of these movies would be great for an stay-at-home date night and they’re also great ones to add to your watch list just because they’re great. What movies would you add to this list? Let me know in the comments below. Also, be sure to follow my blog for more entertainment content.

Until our next adventure, stay curious.

–t

One thought on “*Movies I Love

  1. Pingback: February Favorites- 2019 | Pressed Flower Pages

Leave a comment